Introduction

A few factors have precipitated together to create the perfect storm that will fuel this blog. First off, I like to run. Second off, I budget a heaping helping of my income towards running shoes. The consequence is that I’m always looking for the best shoe and, so far, I can still afford to buy even more shoes. I run a decent amount of mileage (between 30 and 80 miles per week), so I can at least rationalize that I need to go through a few shoes per year. I spend a lot of time online researching which shoes I should buy. I sometimes find a great review and I can’t thank those reviewers enough for their efforts. Other times, information is not available or, well, the reviews are about as useless as jpegs are to Helen Keller. This blog is my personal attempt to contribute to a growing pool of knowledge about the sport of running, beginning from the foot up.

About Me

Male

Born in 1983

5’11”

Not quite 160 lbs

I was somewhat athletic as a child. I was not athletic in middle school and ballooned to 190 lbs by my freshman year of high school. “Joe, why are you the only fat Dowgiallo?” I ran 3 years in high school and hovered between 145 and 155 lbs. “You look like a holocaust victim.” I ran not much at all in college and weighed probably 180+ when I graduated. I ran basically nothing for 2 years out of college and grew to around 200+. I have been back at it for 2 years and weigh not quite 160 lbs. I bring this up simply to illustrate that I know what it is like to run at different weights, varied paces, with somewhat different footstrikes, and with trans fat in my arteries. That’s right, I risked stress fractures and heart disease just for you. The least you can do is read my blog.

About atongueforyourupper

Runner Intellect Love Machine
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Exposition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introduction

  1. Michelle Lucero says:

    Thank you, I’ve been reading about running shoes for months and yours is the only one I’ve found that doesn’t sound like you’re endorsing a brand. Very informative. I don’t like to pay a lot for any kind of shoe so I used to pick a running shoe by price and then by how comfortable they felt in the store. As I became more serious about my running I started researching shoes on the web. I finally decided on a pair of Brooks Pure Cadence II, They were on sale, lol, but I’d read good things about the brand. Ive been training in them for a few months, but having some soreness in my knees probably just from increasing my mileage. I’ve been running between 15 to 20 miles a week. I normally run 4 to 5 miles two days out of the week, the one 7 to 10 mile run on the weekend. Prior to that only 3 miles 3 times a week. I like the Brooks shoe well enough, but after about mile 6, I get a blister at the top of the arch of my right foot and my feet begin to ache, midfoot mostly, I feel like I’m going to pull something mid foot when I try to relax during my run. My boyfriend bought a pair of Hoka One Ones for me after doing his own research about the problems I’m having. I ran in them twice. The first time my calves were fairly fatigued, but eventually the pain in both calves got do bad I quit after only 1.25 miles at an 11 minute pace. I couldnt run faster in the hokas. My normal pace is a 10 minute mile on average. I couldnt determine whether it was because of the pain or the huge sole, I just couldn’t move my feet any faster. I tried them again a couple if days later on a flat road, same thing, pain in my calves, Plus achilles and ankle pain. The road had only slight drop at the edge, but in those extra wide soles I felt every bit of it. This was yesterday and I can barely walk today. I like that the Hoka’s eliminated the knee and foot pain, but the pain in my calves, achilles and heels are much more than any pain I experienced in the Brooks. I definitely have weak ankles and a tight arch. Can you recommend what kind of shoe I need? Does the pain Im experiencing in the Hokas mean I should try more of a heel to toe drop? Is a tight arch abnormal?

  2. whoah tyis log is magnificent i like reading your posts.
    Sttay up thhe great work! You understand, lots of people are looking roun ffor this
    info, you can aid tgem greatly.

  3. Hi there, for all time i used to check website posts here early in the daylight,
    since i enjoy to find out more and more.

Leave a Reply

